Denise Whiteley

Partner

Joseph B. Amantea, Partner

Direct: (403) 228-8382
Email: whiteley@wbalaw.ca

Download VCard

Assistants

Alison Ziegler

Direct: (403) 228-8379
Email: aziegler@wbalaw.ca

Angie Knudsen

Direct: (403) 228-8371
Email: aknudsen@wbalaw.ca

Alicia Mitchell

Direct: (403) 228-8604
Email: amitchell@wbalaw.ca

Dawn Cocar

Direct: (403) 228-8396
Email: dcocar@wbalaw.ca

Rose Madriaga

Direct: (403) 228-8392
Email: rmadriaga@wbalaw.ca

Denise joined the firm as an Associate in 1998 and became a Partner in 2005. Denise focuses on banking and litigation with an emphasis on foreclosure law. She acts for Canadian Chartered Banks, mortgage and trust companies, and private lenders in relation to the enforcement of mortgage and unsecured debt products. Denise has overseen numerous residential mortgage enforcement matters and enforcement of other securities.

Denise has appeared before the Alberta Court of Appeal, Alberta Court of Queen’s Bench, the Alberta Provincial Court, the Tax Court of Canada, and a number of professional and administrative tribunals. She also has extensive experience in mediation and arbitration proceedings.

Denise is an executive member of the Foreclosure Section of the Canadian Bar Association in Calgary and has presented at a number of seminars, including presentations on behalf of the Legal Education Society of Alberta (LESA) and the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA). Denise is married and has two teenaged children. Outside of work, she enjoys spending time with her family, volunteering for her son’s hockey community, traveling, and golfing.

Volunteer/Community Involvement:

  • The Alex, Volunteer Fundraiser
  • Trails West Hockey, Board Member
  • OHS Parent Counsel, Member